About

I'm a web developer with a preference for human-friendly applications. My focus is on sharing knowledge and helping each other to produce quality work.

Pronouns: she/her.

Personal

As a child, I fell in love with Groningen and have lived there ever since leaving my parents' house. You'll find me at meetups, gaming, working on hobby projects, or (at a bar) with friends outside of work.

I am highly sensitive, autistic, and ADHDer. This means my brain is overactive and sometimes becomes overburdened. I've mostly learned to deal with this and limit the number of social activities and chaotic situations to not become overstimulated.

Goals: Learn more about web accessibility and software architecture; improve communication skills; improve coaching and teaching skills; be more active in public speaking and teaching others to code.

Code style

As a programmer, I prefer to take my time to make code legible and maintainable. If you're looking for someone who writes code quick and dirty: I'm not your woman.

One of the things I love to do is take a problem to a whiteboard and think about a technical solution together with another developer. I see code as a means to an end rather than a goal.

I have superficial knowledge about other parts of (web) development, making it easier to think about a project as a whole. However, I will let the professionals do their job while I get on with mine.

Current employment

For information on my work, projects, and employment status, please check my LinkedIn profile.

Want to work with me?

I keep the information on this page regardless of whether I am currently looking for new employment. Check out my contact page if you want to get in touch.

PS. I don't have pet allergies, so office dogs are not an issue.

What I bring to the table

  • Love for web development
  • A firm belief that the web should be for everyone
  • Stack: Python, Django, HTML, SCSS
  • Over ten years of back-end development experience
  • Decent knowledge of front-end web development
  • The realization that web accessibility is essential
  • Prior experience of working in an ISO/IEC 27001 and NEN 7510 certified company
  • Ability to think along with customers and developers alike
  • Enthusiasm for pair programming and guiding juniors
  • Good mastery of both Dutch and English language
  • Car driver's license (EU class B)

What I am looking for

  • Limited hierarchy; everyone is accessible to everyone
  • Diverse team; both personally and professionally
  • Room to teach or mentor less experienced developers
  • Focus on (code) quality and long-term profitability
  • A maximum of 32-hour workweek, Wednesdays off
  • Ability to work from home when not needed at the office
  • Ability to choose my own working hours (within reasonable limits)
  • Work on a MacBook with my own choice of development software
  • An employer who knows how to deal with neurodiverse people or with the willingness to learn